9/11

What other title would I give to a post I would write on this day?

Nine-Eleven: it’s now an article of vocabulary that no matter who you are, no matter where you live or what language you speak, you understand what it means.

But, it has many meanings. One need only to utter the phrase and several definitions come to mind.

Terror. Hatred. Bravery. Grief. Disbelief. Belief. Heroes. Sadness. Anger. Coward.

Every year on this date, as with many Americans, I seethe with anger. Anger toward a coward I can not see. Anger toward the act that changed America forever. Anger that nearly 10 years later we have still not reigned in the enemy, or enemies of America.

It takes a lot of effort to sustain anger.

With the legacy of 9/11, as with so many day-to-day things, if we, as a nation, and as individuals could embrace the idea of forgiveness, with the velocity that we dedicate toward anger, perhaps our enemies would take our strength as a nation and as a people seriously.

I do not, and never will, condone the acts of terrorism. I support American troops and efforts towards eradicating terrorism on our homeland and worldwide, where we can, and where our troops are welcomed to do so.

As a human, I struggle each day with the ideology behind forgiveness and fight against it more than I embrace it when I’ve been “done wrong”. Guilty as charged.

For me, I am not ready to forgive the events of 9/11. I have to start on a smaller scale.

What about you?

Jus’ Sayin’

1 Comment

Filed under Politics and Crap

One response to “9/11

  1. I'm with you. Sometimes I think we need to re-define forgiveness. It often suggests an, "Ok… don't worry about it … it's okay" kind of attitude. But it's not okay. If it means to 'pardon' … I can't do that with 9/11 yet. It's a ponderable.

Leave a Reply

